For the second year in a row Marcos Ambrose wins at Watkins Glen, but he got a big helping hand. Oil on the track from the car of Bobby Labonte jumbled the running order and it set up a final lap duel between Ambrose and Brad Keselowski. Ambrose made the right move on the final turn and not only gave him the win but his fourth straight top-three finish.

Jimmie Johnson came in third with Clint Bowyer and Sam Hornish, Jr. completing the Top Five.

A disappointing end for Kyle Busch. He led 43 laps and was in the lead entering the final lap but slid on the oil in the first turn allowing Ambrose and Keselowski to get by.  Busch finished seventh.

Johnson moved up three spots to take over the points lead, one point up on Greg Biffle.

Dale Earnhardt, Jr. – a model of consistency all season long had a late spin and finished 28th. As a result he falls from first to fourth in points.

Michigan is up next on the schedule.