He wasn't about to let it happen again. Last year, Kyle Busch was leading on the final lap at Watkins Glen headed for what looked like a sure victory when he got spun out.  This year he survived. He won a two-lap dash to the finish to take a race that Marcos Ambrose seemed sure to win.

Ambrose led 51 of the first 61 laps, but a caution that came out while he was in the pits dropped him back to 12th. It put Busch into the lead and he held it the rest of the way for his third win this year, his second at the Glen and the 27th of his career.

Brad Keselowski came in second for the third straight year. Martin Truex, Jr., Carl Edwards and Juan Pablo Montoya completed the Top 5.

Jimmie Johnson came in eighth and became the first driver to officially clinch a spot in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship.

A crash early in the race put Jeff Gordon's car in the garage for repairs for 23 laps. He finished 36th and dropped out of the Top 10 standings.

Max Papis came in 15th driving for the injured Tony Stewart. It keeps the Number 14 Chevy in the second provisional wild card spot for the owner's championship.

It's back to Michigan next Sunday.