The past year has given country fans many unforgettable songs; some of them broke records, others stirred the heart, and still others drew controversy. Which tune do you think deserves to win Song of the Year at the 2016 ACM Awards?

The Song of the Year trophy, awarded to a track's songwriter(s), publisher(s) and artist(s), went to Miranda Lambert, Nicolle Galyon and Natalie Hemby last year. But this year, there's a new batch of nominees and five deserving songs on the roster.

"Burning House," written by Jeffrey Bhasker, Tyler Johnson and Cam, helped propel the talented singer into the spotlight. The tune, from Cam's debut record Untamed, peaked at No. 2 on Billboard's country charts and became her first platinum-selling song. "Burning House" is 3 minutes and 54 seconds of pure, unhurried poetry.

When Little Big Town released "Girl Crush," written by Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna and Liz Rose, it turned heads due to its lyrics -- but if anything, the controversy (which, at the end of the day, wasn't much) gave "Girl Crush" a big boost of publicity. The song hit No. 1, has been certified platinum, won Song of the Year and Single of the Year at the 2015 CMA Awards and earned Best Country Duo / Group Performance and Best Country Song at the 2016 Grammy Awards. The addition of an ACM trophy to that list would certainly not be surprising.

"Nobody to Blame" is from Chris Stapleton's debut solo album, Traveller, and was co-written by Stapleton, Barry Bales and Ronnie Bowman. Although the song didn't fare super well on the charts (No. 14), Stapleton has proven that he is always a contender. Just look at his past year: a No. 1 album; CMA Awards for Best Male Vocalist, New Artist of the Year and Album of the Year; four Grammy Awards nominations and two Grammys wins.

When you combine Keith Urban with Eric Church, you get ... well, an ACM Awards nod. “Raise ‘Em Up,” from Urban's Fuse album and featuring Church, was written by Tom Douglas, Jaren Johnston and Jeffrey Steele, and it nabbed them a No. 1 hit. It has also scored a nod for Vocal Event of the Year at this year's ACM Awards, as well as a Grammys nomination for Best Country Duo / Group Performance.

Eric Paslay's "She Don't Love You (She's Just Lonely)," written by the singer and Jennifer Wayne, was originally meant for George Strait. Fortunately, Paslay recorded it himself, released it in October of 2014 ... and now has this ACM Awards nod to show for it.

Who should win Song of the Year at the 2016 ACM Awards? You can vote in the poll below as often as once an hour March 31 at 11:59PM ET. We’ll compile the results for our readers vs. staff predictions shortly before the awards show.

The 2016 ACM Awards are set to air live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nev., on April 3, beginning at 8PM ET on CBS.

Big Moments in ACM Awards History

How Well Do You Know the ACM Awards?

More From 106.5 WYRK