Chances are, if you have more than 10 friends on facebook, you've gotten a message about your account being cloned.  Stop forwarding it.  It's not real.

The message normally reads something like this:

"Hi....I actually got another friend request from you which I ignored so you may want to check your account. Hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears...then hit forward and all the people you want to forward too....I had to do the people individually. PLEASE DO NOT ACCEPT A NEW friendship FROM ME AT THIS TIME."

Now, lets just say, that could be legitimate.  However, it's unlikely.  People do clone accounts.  To see if that's the case, search your name on facebook and see if there's another account that looks like yours.  If there is, report it to facebook.

 

CBS News shares these ways to tell if your accout has been hacked:

  • Your name, birthday, email or password has been changed
  • Someone sent out friend requests to people you don't know
  • Messages have been sent from your account, but you didn't write them
  • Posts are appearing on your timeline that you didn't post

 

However, according to Snopes:

Clearly, there would be no utility to forwarding this warning to any of your Facebook friends unless you had actually received a second friend request from one of them. Moreover, even if this warning were possibly real, the optimal approach would not be for the recipient to forward it willy-nilly to every single contact on their friends list.

I guess what I'm saying is...please stop forwarding this message.  Please?

Here are some other articles you might enjoy!

Listen to WYRK at Work with Brett Alan, weekdays from 10am-3pm on Buffalo’s New Country 106.5 WYRK!!

@WYRKBrett on Instagram

@TheHitmanBrett on Twitter

Brett Alan on Facebook

WYRKBrett on Snapchat