New York State is the first in the nation to offer an innovative program for at-risk youth. Governor Kathy Hochul announced the program today, March 29, 2022. The state is putting $21 million in funding towards 15 Youth Assertive Community Treatment teams. These teams will work with youth ages 10 to 21 across New York State, as well as their families. The 15 Youth Assertive Community Treatment teams will provide services and support for the youth in their homes and communities. The goal is to keep them out of residential or inpatient psychiatric treatment centers. they will receive the care they need while at home with their loved ones. Gov. Hochul said,

When at-risk young people are suffering from hardships, it is imperative that families stay together. In the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, New York is leading the way in developing new and innovative ways to provide behavioral healthcare to vulnerable individuals. With the help of this new program, children across the state will have the opportunity to remain with their families and receive the services they need.

Here are the areas that will be serviced by the Youth ACT teams:

Capital Region:
Parson's Child and Family Centers - Albany & Schenectady Counties

Central New York:
Onondaga Case Management - Onondaga County
Hillside - Chenango and Cortland Counties

Finger Lakes:
Hillside - Monroe County

Long Island:
Central Nassau - Nassau County
Hope for Youth - Suffolk County

MHA Westchester - Westchester County

New York City:
Child Center of NY - Manhattan
Jewish Board of Family & Children's Services - Staten Island
Jewish Board of Family & Children's Services - Queens
Jewish Board of Family & Children's Services - Bronx
JCCA - Brooklyn

Southern Tier:
Children's Home of Wyoming - Broome County

Western New York:
Child and Family Services - Erie & Niagara Counties

Mohawk Valley:
Integrated Community Alternatives Network (ICAN) - Oneida County

OMH will soon be issuing a Request for Proposal to develop another five teams that will serve children and families in the following counties:

Capital Region:
One team serving Warren, Washington and Saratoga Counties

One team serving Orange County

Mohawk Valley:
One team serving Fulton and Montgomery Counties

Finger Lakes:
One team Serving Ontario, Wayne, Seneca and Yates Counties

Southern Tier:
One team Serving Steuben and Chemung Counties

106.5 WYRK logo
Get our free mobile app


8 New York Counties Have Most Violent Young Criminals

This Is The Poorest County In New York State

6 Missing College Student Cold Cases In New York State

More From 106.5 WYRK