Buffalo-native Patrick Kane of the Chicago Black Hawks won the Hart Memorial Trophy Wednesday night as the NHL's Most Valuable Player.  Kane was the Black Hawks and the league's top point scorer with 46 goals and 60 assists for 106 points, all career highs.

He managed to score at least one point in 64 of 82 games and had a franchise-record 26-game point streak.

It was a positive season for a guy who had an absolutely awful summer last year in Buffalo after he was accused of sexual assault.  Hamburg police investigated the allegations of a woman who claimed Kane attacked her after being invited to his lakefront home after they met in a downtown Buffalo bar.  The Erie County District Attorney declined to prosecute after the allegations turned out to be unfounded.

Other winners Wednesday night at the awards ceremony in Las Vegas include:

  • Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman) - Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings
  • Vezina Trophy (top goaltender) - Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals
  • Calder Trophy (top rookie) - Artemi Panarin, Chicago Black Hawks
  • Bill Masterton Trophy (perseverance, sportsmanship, dedication) - Jaromir Jagr, Florida Panthers
  • Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship) - Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
  • Jack Adams Award (coach of the year) - Barry Trotz, Washington Capitals

The NHL also made it official that the league will expand, adding a team in Las Vegas to begin play next year.

More From 106.5 WYRK