For the second week in a row Martin Truex, Jr. came up short in a race he should have won.  Saturday night at Richmond Speedway Truex was just three laps away from winning when Derrick Cope scraped the wall to bring out the caution flag and setting up an overtime restart.

After the leaders went to the pits for a new set of tires, Kyle Larson came out ahead of Truex and he picked the inside slot for the restart and he made the most of it.  When the race went green again Larson pulled away while Truex got tangled up with Denny Hamlin sending Truex into the wall to end the race under caution.

Joey Logano needed to win the race for a spot in the playoff field but came up short.  He started ninth on the restart and finished second.

Even after losing a race he should have won, Truex finished as the Monster Energy regular season champion.  He won the first stage at Richmond to increase his playoff point total to a series-leading 53 and will have a 20-point margin over Kyle Larson entering next week's first race in the 10-race playoffs.

Here's the complete playoff series lineup and their point totals:

  1. Martin Truex, Jr.  2053
  2. Kyle Larson  2033
  3. Kyle Busch  2029
  4. Brad Keselowski 2019
  5. Jimmie Johnson  2017
  6. Kevin Harvick  2015
  7. Denny Hamlin  2013
  8. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.  2010
  9. Ryan Blaney  2008
  10. Chase Elliott  2006
  11. Ryan Newman  2005
  12. Kurt Busch  2005
  13. Kasey Kahne  2005
  14. Austin Dillon  2005
  15. Matt Kenseth  2005
  16. Jamie McMurray  2003

The first race in this year's Monster Energy NASCAR Playoffs is next Sunday at Chicagoland Speedway.


More From 106.5 WYRK