Governor Andrew Cuomo announced a brand new executive order and it has to do with traveling to states where COVID-19 is much worse right now.

According to Governor Cuomo's executive order, per WKBW, any New York employee who voluntarily travels to what is deemed a COVID-19 high-risk state (ex: Florida, Texas, etc.) after June 25th, will be ineligible for paid sick leave.

This comes on the heels of a new mandate that says anyone traveling into New York from a high-risk COVID-19 state must self-quarantine for 14 days.

"Employees will forgo their paid sick leave benefits from New York's COVID-19 paid sick leave law if they engage in non-essential travel to any state that has a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents, or higher than a 10 percent test positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average," says a release from the governor's office.

These are the states that have been deemed high-risk and part of the self-quarantine.
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • Florida
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Utah
Read more here.

READ MORE: See how some companies are changing their businesses to combat COVID-19

More From 106.5 WYRK