New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo has issued a state of emergency for 11 counties in New York State including Erie and  Chautauqua County.

The Governor's Office said that more than 240,000 businesses and homes are without power across the state after the strong winds came across the region.

The Governor has called for around 200 National Guard members to be deployed to help with clean up efforts.

More From 106.5 WYRK