Kevin Harvick passed Kasey Kahne on a restart with 11 laps to go and held on to win Sunday's Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway for his 19th career Sprint Cup victory and his second in the 600. Kahne led a race-high 161 laps but settled for second followed by Kurt Busch, Denny Hamlin and Joey Logano.

But a bizarre incident halted the race for 37 minutes when a cable from an overhead Fox Sports TV camera snapped and fell on the track and grandstand area of Turn Four. Ten fans were injured and the cars of Kyle Busch, Mark Martin and Marcos Ambrose were damaged. Most of the injuries were cuts and scrapes. Three fans were taken for hospital treatment and later released.

Because it wasn’t just any ordinary racing incident, NASCAR allowed 15 minutes to do repairs and lined up the cars in the order they were in when the race was red flagged. The Fox announcing crew continued to apologize for the delay and Fox issued a statement saying the camera system has been used at this year’s Daytona 500 and at the All Star race last week. A full investigation is planned and use of the overhead cable camera has been suspended indefinitely.

Kyle Busch and Dale Earnhardt, Junior both had their engines blow up on them on the same lap. Kyle won his record seventh Nationwide Series race at Charlotte on Saturday. He also won the Camping World Truck Series race earlier in the month and was looking for his first Sprint Cup victory at Charlotte.

Points leader Jimmie Johnson finished five laps behind in 22nd after he was involved in a five-car crash on lap 335. His lead is now 32 pointa over Carl Edwards, who finished 11th.

Indy 500 winner Tony Kanaan poses with the Borg Warner Trophy (Getty Images)
Indy 500 winner Tony Kanaan poses with the Borg Warner Trophy (Getty Images)

Earlier in the day, defending series champion Brad Keselowski attended the 97th running of the Indy 500 before heading back to Charlotte. He was there to support Team Penske drivers Helio Castroneves, Will Power and A.J. Allmendinger. Tony Kanaan won the race for the first time in his 12th attempt. Rookie Carlos Munoz came in second with Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti and Justin Wilson completing the Top Five. Three-time winner and defending champion Dario Franchitti came in 22nd. He and Castroneves were both trying to become just the fourth driver in history to win the Indy 500 four times. Castroneves finished sixth.

More From 106.5 WYRK