When Pets Are Banned in Apartments in New York State
When can a landlord ban you from having a pet in your apartment in New York State? It's important to note the laws for both renters and landlord so that expectations can be met. If you are interested in having a pet in your future apartment: can you have a pet? How much can be charged for a pet deposit? We have you covered.
- If the lease says that you cannot have a pet, you cannot have one.
- If you bring a pet inside, it is warranted if you get evicted.
- If it is in your lease, but your landlord knows and approves you having your pet, and you have had it for more than 3 months, you are legally allowed to have it.
There are a couple of exceptions to the law:
Tenants who are blind or deaf are permitted to have guide dogs or service dogs regardless of a no-pet clause in their lease. Also, tenants with a chronic mental illness are permitted to have emotional assistance animals", according
to the New York State website.
How much money can you be charged for a pet fee in apartments?
In most New York State apartments, the law is that you cannot be charged more than 1 month's rent for a pet fee/deposit.
Can your landlord deny you if you have a pet?
Yes, a landlord can deny you an apartment if you have an animal. If it is a service animal, there is a handful of documentations that might be needed if you are trying to move into an apartment that is not pet-friendly.