Contact Us

Matt Kenseth Wins At Kansas [VIDEO]

Matt Kenseth celebrates his victory as Kansas Speedway (Getty Images)

For the third straight race the Sprint Cup pole sitter emerged the winner.  Matt Kenseth won for the second time this season and for the second consecutive time at Kansas Speedway holding off a challenge from Kasey Kahne on the final lap. 

Kenseth led 163 of 267 laps but it was a late restart that allowed Kenseth to take the lead out of the pits, Kahne took over second and that’s the way they finished.

Jimmie Johnson came in third with Martin Truex, Jr. and Clint Bowyer completing the Top 5.

With his third-place finish Johnson opens up a 37-point lead in the championship standings.  Kahne moved up five spots to second while Brad Keselowski stands third.

Kyle Busch dropped five spots to seventh.  Kansas is the only track that he doesn’t have a Top Five finish.  It was an early exit for him after a hard crash into the Turn Four wall then collided head-on with Joey Logano sending both cars to the garage area.

Subscribe to 106.5 WYRK on

Next up on the schedule is a visit to Richmond International under the light next weekend.

Best of WYRK

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Country Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Country Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.