Heading into the weekend Kyle Busch had won 15 times at Charlotte Motor Speedway.  He had won eight Xfinity races and on Friday night he won his seventh truck race.  But during his career he had never won a race at the Monster Energy Cup level at Charlotte, until Saturday.

Busch took the lead on the final restart with 10 laps left and sped away for a more than one second victory in the Monster Energy All-Star race and the one million dollar first prize.

Brad Keselowski started the final segment as the leader on the inside of the front row with Jimmie Johnson next to him on the outside.  Keselowski was running on old tires with Kyle Busch lined up right behind him.  Thru the first two turns of the restart Busch got inside of Keselowski and got by both him and Johnson and he was gone.

Kyle Larson won the first two segments and got by Jimmie Johnson to finish second leaving Johnson to come in third.  Kurt Busch and Kevin Harvick completed the Top 5.

After that it was Jamie McMurray, Chase Elliott, Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski and Denny Hamlin.

Beyond the 16 drivers who automatically won berths in the All-Star Race on merit, Clint Bowyer, Ryan Blaney and Daniel Suarez drove their way into the field in preliminary races.  They were joined by Chase Elliott who won the fan vote.

More From 106.5 WYRK