The CMT artists of the year special will air tonight.   The five artists being honored are..Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Lady Antebellum, Brad Paisley and Taylor Swift. 

 How were they chosen?  Well it’s not based on the video content, the CMT Artist of the Year acts were chosen by ranking the top five artists based on sales including digital downloads, country airplay, activity on CMT and concert attendance.  What's cool about the special is the artist will sing their hits with another star for a different twist.  Rob Lowe hosts tonight on CMT.  Here is a glimpse of what is in store tonight along with videos from the 5 honorees.

More From 106.5 WYRK