Denny Hamlin won Saturday night's regular-season finale at Richmond International Raceway for his third win of the season and it also set the grid for the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship beginning next week including three rookies.

Hamlin's third win of the season came in overtime after a record 16 cautions.  Hamlin took the lead on lap 322 of the scheduled 400 lap race thanks to some good work by his pit crew.  And Hamlin held on to the lead thru six more restarts.  Kyle Larson pitted for new tires just before the final restart and went from 12th to second, but couldn't catch Hamlin for the win.

Martin Truex, Jr. came in third with Brad Keselowski and Kevin Harvick completing the Top 5. Kasey Kahne finished sixth.  He needed to win the race to qualify for the Chase.  Ryan Newman was also looking to make it into the championship grid but an 8-car wreck ended those hopes.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Federated Auto Parts 400
Drivers in this year's Chase for the Sprint Cup championship pose following Saturday's race at Richmond (Getty Images)

So entering the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship next week the standings have been reset to factor in victories as well as points:

  • Kyle Busch - 4 wins
  • Brad Keselowski - 4 wins
  • Denny Hamlin - 3 wins
  • Kevin Harvick - 2 wins
  • Carl Edwards - 2 wins
  • Martin Truex, Jr. - 2 wins
  • Matt Kenseth  - 2 wins
  • Jimmie Johnson - 2 wins
  • Joey Logano - 1 win
  • Kyle Larson - 1 win
  • Tony Stewart - 1 win
  • Kurt Busch - 1 win
  • Chris Buescher - 1 win
  • Chase Elliott
  • Matt Dillon
  • Jamie McMurray

Race one in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship begins next Sunday at Chicagoland Speedway.


More From 106.5 WYRK