Alex Bowman in the number 88 Chevy will start from the pole in next Sunday's Daytona 500.  Replacing Dale Earnhardt, Jr. this year behind the wheel of the 88, Bowman turned in a speed of 195.644 mph in the final round of qualifying.  Lining up next to him in the front row next week will be Denny Hamlin who finished with a speed of 195.002 mph. 

40 drivers are entered into next week's race.  38 cars competed in the first qualifying round and the Top-12 advanced to the second round.  Interesting that four Fords, four Chevys and four Toyotas all reached the second round.  Bowman also had the best time in the first round of qualifying.  Here are Sunday's Top-12 qualifiers:

  1. Alex Bowman
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Jimmy Johnson
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. William Byron (rookie)
  6. Erik Jones
  7. Daniel Suarez
  8. Kevin Harvick
  9. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
  10. Chase Elliott
  11. Joey Logano
  12. Paul Menard

The rest of the field will be determined in Thursday's Twin 150's.

In her last start in a Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series car Danica Patrick had the 28th fastest car.  And for the 40th straight year an Earnhardt will drive in the Daytona 500.  Jeffrey Earnhardt, the nephew of Dale Earnhardt, Jr. will drive the Number 00 VRX Simulators Chevrolet.

In the warm-up for next weekend's race,Brad Keselowski went from last to first to win The Clash on Saturday.  Kyle Larson and Jimmy Johnson came together on the back stretch of the final lap causing a multi-car pile-up but the track remained green for the finish.

More From 106.5 WYRK