Here’s What You Need To Qualify For Paid Sick Leave in New York State
It's a bit confusing. There are a few rules and guidelines that are put out by New York State that might be a little hard to understand, but it is pretty simple. Governor Cuomo has guaranteed workers job protection and financial help during these crazy times if New Yorkers need it.
So, we're here to clarify it for you. Here is how you are eligible in New York State. You can get all details on PaidFamilyLeave.NY.gov:
Some employers in New York State are now required to provide at least five days of job protected, paid sick leave to employees who need to take leave because they or their minor dependent child are under a mandatory or precautionary order of quarantine or isolation due to COVID-19. The amount of paid sick leave an employer is required to provide depends on the number of employees they have and the employer’s net annual income.
If your employer does not provide the required paid sick leave, you may file a complaint with the NYS Department of Labor.
Under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA), you'll have to file with your name, dates that you are requesting leave, why you are trying to get paid leave and possibly, your child's school or daycare name and location.
You can get full pay for 80 hours of work if:
- You are mandated to quarantine or self-isolate
- You have COVID symptoms
You can get 2/3 of your salary for 80 hours of work:
- You're caring for a loved one who is sick that is in quarantine or self-isolation
- You have a child whose school has been cancelled. This includes day care for your kids as well.