Brad Keselowski passed Denny Hamlin with two laps to go and held on to win the rain-delayed Big Machine Vodka 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Monday.  The victory was the first Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series win for Team Penske at the Brickyard to go along with their 17 Indy 500 victories.

It's the second straight victory for Keselowski after he won at Darlington last week.  Erik Jones was also able to get by Hamlin to finish second while Hamlin settled for third.  Kevin Harvick and Clint Bowyer completed the Top 5.

The result of Monday's race set the field for the 10-race playoffs beginning this Sunday at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.  Kyle Busch finished eighth at Indy but he'll enter the playoffs as the regular season champion.  Kevin Harvick stands second and last year's Cup champion Martin Truex, Jr. will start the playoffs third.

The complete Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Championship lineup:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Martin Truex, Jr.
  4. Brad Keselowski
  5. Clint Bowyer
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Kurt Busch
  8. Chase Elliott
  9. Ryan Blaney
  10. Erik Jones
  11. Austin Dylan
  12. Kyle Larson
  13. Denny Hamlin
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Jimmy Johnson
  16. Alex Bowman

Erik Jones qualified for the playoffs in his first Cup season.  He's the only first timer in the field.  Five drivers who made the field last year, missed out this year:

  • Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.
  • Ryan Newman
  • Jamie McMurray
  • Kasey Kahne
  • Matt Kenseth


More From 106.5 WYRK