The first race in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship at Chicagoland Speedway goes to Martin Truex, Jr.  Using a late pit stop for new tires, Truex caught and passed rookie Chase Elliott in the final restart of the race and held on for the victory.  Elliott had led 75 laps until that last caution flag came out.

Joey Logano came in second with Elliott finishing third.  Ryan Blaney and Brad Keselowski completed the Top 5.

Denny Hamlin, last year's winner at Chicagoland came in sixth.  Pole sitter Kyle Busch was eighth.

Kevin Harvick and Kyle Larson were forced to start at the rear of the field after making modifications to their cars after qualifying.  Harvick had qualified fourth while Larson had the 10th starting spot.  All starting positions were based on the standings after Friday's qualifying was rained out.

With his victory, Truex leads the driver standings with Keslowski one point back with Kyle Busch in third place.  Hamlin is fourth.  Logano is fifth.

Race Two in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship is next Sunday at New Hampshire.

More From 106.5 WYRK