From Texas, NASCAR drivers now head to another mile and a half track this week when they go to Kansas Speedway.  Brad Keselowski was the winner last year in a race that came down to fuel strategy.  When Kurt Busch was forced to head to the pits for gas with 15 laps left, Keselowski took the lead and was able to hold off Dale Earnhardt, Junior for his second career Sprint Cup win.

Of the previous 12 Sprint Cup races at Kansas Speedway, two have been won by the pole sitter, the last one in 2008 by Jimmie Johnson. Jeff Gordon and Greg Biffle are two-time winners at Kansas.

The best bet to win this week is Sprint Cup points leader Greg Biffle.  He’s posted five top-10's and one win in
seven starts this year. And he has a pretty good record at Kansas.   In nine Nationwide starts he has eight top-10s.  And in 11 Sprint Cup races Biffle has eight top-10s and two wins.  Biffle enters the weekend with a 19-point lead over Matt Kenseth and Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

It’s been 13 races extending back to last fall since a Hendrick Motorsports driver has won a Sprint Cup race.  If either Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt, Junior or Kasey Kahne is able to break thru and end that
streak, it’ll give the Hendrick team its 200th victory – only the second group ever to hit the 200 mark.
They’ve been holding at 199 for six months.  Petty Enterprises holds the all-time record with 268 wins.

No matter what happens on Sunday, Hendrick is assured of one thing, the team will hit 3000 Cup starts and
no team has ever done that.

After Sunday’s race Kansas Speedway will be repaved.

More From 106.5 WYRK