Another driver besides Dale Earnhardt, Junior who hadn’t won in a long time finally did Saturday night at Texas Motor Speedway.  Matt Kenseth finally made it back to victory lane after a dominating performance leading 169 of 334 laps at the mile and a half track.  His margin of victory was an incredible 8.3 seconds.  It’s his 19th career victory, but first since February of 2009 to end a winless streak that had stretched to 76 races.  He won the 2009 Daytona 500 and won again the following week in California, but nothing since.

Clint Bowyer was a distant second with Kenseth’s Roush Fenway teammates Carl Edwards and Greg Biffle coming in third and fourth.  Paul Menard completed the top five.

Tony Stewart was running third when he ran out of gas on the final lap.  He finished 12th.

Carl Edwards regained the points lead swapping places with Kyle Busch.  Busch finished 16th and trails Edwards by 9 points.  Kenseth meanwhile has finished in the top 10 in the last four races and moves up 6 spots to third – tied with Jimmie Johnson 13 points back of Edwards. 

 The sport’s longest track – Talladega is up next.