It's a very prestigious award in college hockey and four athletes that call WNY home could bring it home with your support.

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award is college hockey's most prestigious award.  It's kind of like the Heisman Trophy in football or the Naismith Player of the Year trophy in basketball.

This is awarded to college hockey's best of the best.  One award - one winner. It was named for hockey legend and World War I veteran Hobey Baker.  To win this award, you don't have to just have skill, you need character too.  Some of the requirements include:

•     Exhibit strength and character, both on and off the ice
•     Contribute to the integrity of the team
•     Display outstanding skills in all phases of the game
•     Show scholastic achievement and sportsmanship

Ryan Miller, Jack Eichel, and Jimmy Vesey are all former Hobey Baker Award winners.

This year there are 4 players who have been nominated for the award that have ties to Western New York.

  • WNY Native, Griffin Loughran is originally from West Seneca, NY.  He went on to play at Northern Michigan University.
  • From Canisius College - orignally from Hicksville, NY Nick Hutchison
  • From Brantford, Ontario - also plays at Canisius College - Matt Hoover
  • From Pickering, Ontario - a goalie at Niagara University - Brian Wilson

You can vote for your favorites as well. To enter simply vote, once per day, for your favorite Hobey Baker Candidate on this website.



More From 106.5 WYRK