Sunday's race at Talladega Superspeedway completed the second segment of the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship.  Eight drivers advanced, four were eliminated.  Joey Logano won the race, holding on to the lead on the final restart and edging Brian Scott at the finish line. Denny Hamlin came in third with Kurt Busch and Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. rounding out the Top 5.

With the victory Logano advances to the Final Round of 8.  So here are the drivers who'll compete in the next three races at Martinsville, Texas and Phoenix for the right to advance to the Championship Round of 4 at Homestead.

  • Joey Logano
  • Jimmie Johnson
  • Kevin Harvick
  • Matt Kenseth
  • Carl Edwards
  • Denny Hamlin
  • Kurt Busch
  • Kyle Busch

The four drivers who were eliminated after Talladega were Austin Dillon, Martin Truex, Jr., Chase Elliott and Brad Keselowski.  Truex started from the pole but a blown engine ended his day after only 41 laps, a disappointing end to what had looked like a championship bid.  Truex has four victories this season including two in the opening round of the Chase.

Engine trouble also cost Brad Keselowski his title hopes.  Keselowski had led a race-high 90 laps before his engine blew on lap 144 of the 188 lap race.  He finished 38th.

Four more races are left.  Next on the schedule is Martinsville next Sunday.

More From 106.5 WYRK