Matt Kenseth dominated at Kansas Speedway on Sunday.  He led 153 of 269 laps and appeared to be on his way to victory and an automatic pass into the next round of the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship.  But Kenseth was nudged from behind into a spin by Joey Logano with five laps left, then Logano pulled away from the field on a green, white, checkered restart for his second straight win and fifth of the season.

Denny Hamlin finished second with Jimmie Johnson third, Kasey Kahne fourth and Kyle Busch fifth.  Kenseth wound up 14th.

After next week's race at Talladega, four more drivers will be eliminated from the Chase championship to create a final eight.  If the Contender Round had ended after Sunday's race at Kansas, Kyle Busch, Ryan Newman, Dale Earnhardt, Jr. and Matt Kenseth would have been eliminated.  With a victory by any one of them next week they automatically move into the next round.

Here's the Top 12 heading into Talladega next week:

  • Joey Logano
  • Denny Hamlin
  • Kurt Busch
  • Carl Edwards
  • Kevin Harvick
  • Jeff Gordon
  • Brad Keselowski
  • Martin Truex, Jr.
  • Kyle Busch
  • Ryan Newman
  • Dale Earnhardt, Jr.
  • Matt Kenseth