New York State Will Fine Parents $50 if You Kid Breaks This Law
As a parent, you are responsible for your kid's actions and if they break the law--it could even end up in a fine to the parent, according to New York State. If your child is outside and riding a bike without a helmet, parents can get a $50 fine.
The New York State law is that any child under the age of 14 years old must be wearing a helmet when they are actively riding a bike. If they are caught by police, they CAN get a ticket that the parent or guardian will be responsible for. According to the New York State website, the fine is 50 bucks and you can read the law word-for-word, below.
Bicyclists who violate the law are subject to traffic tickets. Parents can be held responsible for violations by their minor children
Do you get mad when you are driving and you see people biking in the street? You can be mad all you want, but bikers have the right to be on the roadway just like you do (with the exceptions of thruways and a few other specific roads)
The same laws that apply to drivers apply to people on bikes as well. That means that, YES, you can get a traffic ticket on a bike and parents, YOU are responsible if your child breaks one of the laws.