The Sabres have been celebrating every decade with a special game night this season (their 50th anniversary) and next up will be honoring the 2000's years.

106.5 WYRK logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Other than the 1970's, the Sabres most successful years were probably those great teams after the NHL lockout in 2005. From 2005-2007, the Sabres had arguably the best team in the league with players such as Danny Briere, Chris Drury, Ryan Miller, Jason Pominville and Brian Campbell.

The entire 2000's decade will be honored this Friday, February 13th against the Columbus Blue Jackets.

According to the Athletic's John Vogl, these are the players expected to attend on Friday night with some players greeting fans in the concourse.

  • Martin Biron
  • Eric Boulton
  • Daniel Briere
  • Brian Campbell
  • Tim Connolly
  • J.P. Dumont
  • Paul Gaustad
  • Michal Grosek
  • Patrick Kaleta
  • Patrick Lalime
  • Adam Mair
  • Jay McKee
  • Daniel Paille
  • Andrew Peters
  • Jason Pominville
  • Michael Ryan
  • Rhett Warrener

It's still unclear if players like Chris Drury and Thomas Vanek will be in attendance. They will still be honored if not.

Former Sabres goaltender Ryan Miller also will not be in attendance because he is still playing professionally with the Anaheim Ducks, who just played Buffalo on Sunday.

The 2000's decade was my favorite Sabres era. Two Eastern Conference Final appearances. Three other playoff runs, including the 2001 team that was one win away from another conference final appearance.

The 2005-2006 team should have won the Stanley Cup. A string of injuries to their defenseman against Carolina was a huge deciding factor, unfortunately. Still makes me sad to this day.

Here are more articles you might enjoy:

More From 106.5 WYRK